Based on 1.522 opinions finded in 2 websites
Based on 1.522 opinions finded in 2 websites
Nº 326 in 756 in Norwich
Nº 53 of 119 Other cuisines in Norwich
Opinions
Pleasent surroundings, delicious cakes when we eventually got them that is. Wasn't busy when we went in, staff not very pleasant or attentive, there was five in our group all served at various intervals, no apology given. 4 Stars for cakes, coffee not great, service when it came was not with a smile so 2 stars in total.
vivienne southorn . 2025-03-12
MORE AT Google
Everytime we come here it takes so long to be served and then get our drinks/cakes. They are seriously understaffed. Hopefully management sees this and employs more staff. Cakes are top notch but we shouldn't have to wait an hour.
Jack Guerrier . 2025-03-01
MORE AT Google
Wonderful food, cozy atmosphere.
Allen Surico . 2025-02-24
MORE AT Google
During our recent visit to Biddy's Tea Room in Norwich, we were charmed by its eclectic Victorian decor and the delightful array of cakes and beverages on offer. The Turkish delight cake, millionaire's shortbread, and chocolate brownie were all delectable, and our drinks; a chocolate milkshake, two americanos, a cappuccino, and a caramel cream coffee: were equally satisfying. However, the service left much to be desired. Despite the tearoom not being particularly busy and having ample staff, our party of five was served at random intervals, and the staff's demeanor lacked warmth and attentiveness. It's possible that visiting on a Sunday influenced the service quality, but it was disappointing nonetheless. I usually believe that if you can't say anything nice, you shouldn't say it at all, but this is an exception. Biddy's offers a unique and cozy atmosphere with its vintage charm, making it a lovely spot for indulging in delicious treats. We hope that with improvements in service, future patrons will have a more consistently pleasant experience.
Jo Patrick . 2025-02-24
MORE AT Google
Really disappointing visit yesterday. The new venue was welcoming, but chilly. I didn't feel it was much warmer inside than out. I ordered gluten free salted caramel chocolate brownie. I struggled to cut it with a fork, it was so hard and could barely taste salted caramel. The cocoa flavour overpowered it. My friend ordered a victoria sponge. It was a victoria cake not sponge, it was very heavy and dense, not light at all. The coffee was very strong too. We did mention our comments, but it was brushed off with 'i'll feedback to the kitchen '. It wasn't the same experience as the last time we went.
Alison Galvin . 2025-02-23
MORE AT Google
First time at the new cafe used to live the old Biddy’s tearoom. It’s still has the same charm just larger cafe. Excellent quality coffee and teas/tisanes. Also a large selection of gorgeous , delicious cakes. I had a Turkish delight inspired pistachio, rose and cherry gluten free cake. Wow what amazing flavours and light sponge one of the best gf cakes I have ever eaten. They had a large range of gf, df etc to choose from. I had an Americano coffee with oat milk, so smooth and full of flavour. Other family member had the apple and ginger tea and rated it highly for flavour and quality. Will definitely be back and maybe lunch next time. It was quiet when we went at about 11 but they were almost fully booked for lunch so booking might be advised. Staff were relaxed and friendly and service great. Presentation of cakes was sublime.
Jackie . 2025-02-22
MORE AT TripAdvisor
First time in the new cafe. Same fantastic service . Delicious cakes and bakes including gluten free and dairy free. Great quality coffee and a huge selection of teas snd tisanes. Will definitely return.
Jackie Kirby . 2025-02-21
MORE AT Google
The person in the loose tea section helped me so much! They even went so far as to make me my own blend of tea based on my needs which just feels extra special to me now. The atmosphere is so cozy and even on a busy day during half term all the staff seemed to friendly and kind. Just lived my experience!
Meg E . 2025-02-18
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Myself and my husband came here for coffee and cake. Orders were taken from customers who arrived a good while after us, while we were waiting for someone to take ours. Our coffees arrived first and then we were left for 10 minutes wondering where our cakes were - I don't know why they couldn't bring it all out together. Coffees were weak. Cake was OK. Scone was hard and crusty. Stood up and queued up to pay, as nobody was coming to our table, and staff member let another (vocal) customer push in and pay ahead of us even though we had been standing there waiting patiently for a good few minutes. Our waiting was acknowledged with a 10% discount but we won't ever be returning. Would rather pay the extra 10% for excellent service and nice food and drink. Maybe they need more staff.
Anna B . 2025-02-16
MORE AT Google
Wouldn't return. Sat for over ten minutes waiting to order, then a further 20plus for 2 hot drinks and a scone and cake. Coffee was like hot water, totally rank and granular residue round the rim of the cup. The cakes were nice and light albeit far too thick buttercream, scone was a tad dense and so hot the cream melted to liquid on it. In all not a pleasant experience. Staff were unable to hear when taking our order due to the noise level downstairs even though it wasn't full, and were lacking in customer service skills or coffee making skills. The front desk was constantly left unattended with no staff downstairs.overpriced coffee. In all did not enjoy and wouldn't return, felt the system needs improving
Quest60562930347 . 2025-02-08
MORE AT TripAdvisor
was disappointed by the service. Arrived and a young staff member with curly light brown hair in a ponytail sullenly pointed us to a table. She and two other staff members—a man and a woman—then engaged in conversation for the next 15 minutes, neglecting to take our order or check on us. Feeling ignored, we decided to leave. As we exited, the same young woman watched us go without offering any apology just a smirk.
Karakap . 2025-02-07
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Great service, lovely atmosphere
Andrew Allan . 2025-02-06
MORE AT Google
Just had the best sponge cake of my entire life, great amenities, good staff and delicious food.
Lucas Campelo . 2025-02-05
MORE AT Google
This has always been one of my favourite places to eat however there's a definite difference since they've moved. The bread used for the sandwiches isn't bakery bread anymore and the side salads don't include the coleslaw anymore. The portion of cake is definitely smaller now too, which isn't the end of the world but the prices of everything has increased but the portions are smaller! We waited quite a while before our order was taken too. Biddys need to go back to using quality ingredients like they used to and increase their staff.
Fenella C . 2025-02-05
MORE AT TripAdvisor
We visited Biddys in norwich on Saturday a cold day it was just as cold inside,we waited a while for our order to be taken, we waited 2 coffee's arrived the frothy coffee weak, another wait for our food to arrive, my daughter tripped on the step near the WC then my husband fell down the step in the cafe, I mentioned this to the young waitress as we paid all she said was it's an old building showing a lack of concern, I will not return
Jennifer Green . 2025-02-03
MORE AT Google
The cake was wonderful but the coffee was awful, it was like drinking hot milk! It is really important to ensure the staff making an oat fat flat, a flat white, cappuccino etc are barista certified & know how to make the coffee correctly. We did send it back but still it wasn't nice 😕
Caron King . 2025-02-01
MORE AT Google
Went to this tea room omg order coffee said pumpkin latte more like a cup of milk was terrible 25mins to get them one cake was dry other one was not to bad rubbish coffee and hot choc not bad service was terrible never wait all that time for a coffee ever ....
Carol Lee . 2025-01-30
MORE AT Google
My daughter and me had a lovely afternoon tea here in March. It's our favourite place to go for an excellent cream tea! Friendly, comfortable seating and great atmosphere!🤗
Wendy . 2025-01-15
MORE AT Google
Being a man's man I don't do afternoon teas and posh cake places however the wife persuaded me to go with her to Biddys I must say I did enjoy the experience the decor was inviting with plenty of seating and a couple of different rooms for a little more privacy. The cakes were amazing. We had a sweet tea and neither of us could finish it off so we were provided with a takeaway box to take the left overs home.
On an adventure steve . 2025-01-08
MORE AT Google
Been coming to biddies since they opened. A lovely quirky tea shop with amazing cakes and great tea. Always had friendly service too. They've recently moved locations but it's a shame to see that some of the quirky charm has been lost in the move. Main thing i'd advise, table seats by the window. Remove the unnecessary giant wooden TEA sign on the glass it adds nothing to the place and just blocks the view out from the tables. Otherwise great place as usual.
flamegrilled92 . 2024-12-29
MORE AT Google
Service dreadfully slow, 45 minutes wait at table. Coffee truly awful
Michel Woodman . 2024-12-17
MORE AT Google
Been twice now and the service has been very poor both times. Ages to be served, items forgotten. Some of the tea pots and crockery could be updated too. They also need to sort out some of the seating arrangements as it's not the most practical or inviting seating, especially the little windowless room upstairs where you get to sit in a corner and stare at the wall.
W . 2024-12-15
MORE AT Google
Worst service of my life! After a job interview I decided to treat myself to a lemonade here, even though there were many empty tables downstairs I was told that they were only for reservations and was told to go upstairs. I sat in a windowless room for almost 10 minutes waiting to be served before I went back downstairs to order, then I waited a further 25 minutes before again I went downstairs to ask where the lemonade was. She then handed me the lemonade from the fridge. This is literally the worst service I have ever experienced, not only the wait for the actual item but also the wait for the waitress, as every time I went downstairs she was nowhere to be found or talking to someone while I was waiting at the till. DO NOT VISIT!
M Weller . 2024-12-06
MORE AT Google
Coronation chicken sandwiches, lavender scones, lady grey teas were lovely. highly recommended. excellent atmosphere. however, suggested the owner to double check re. the quality of the tea pots. The waiter served me with a leaked tea pot which was no good and dangerous. And i do not like using the little hand towel to hold the tea pot handle due to the hygiene perspective. the tea cups and plates were not the same set as well. And base on observation, the floor was very dirty with all the bread crumbs etc and the waiter did not clean the table for the next customers
w p . 2024-11-17
MORE AT Google
Lovely gluten free afternoon tea, been twice now. The portions are good, had to take the brownie away to eat later. Would recommend. What a shame, a month later I get sent an email for a booking that I know nothing about which is very concerning. After spending almost half a hour calling without any success I emailed them. Will not use this tea room again.
V Parp . 2024-11-06
MORE AT Google
Fabulous afternoon tea. Outstanding service.
Gill Mayes . 2024-10-30
MORE AT Google
I was given an afternoon tea gift voucher for Xmas for Biddy's finally got there today pre-booked table 2pm finally got served at 2.50. tea arrived in what could only be described something you would find on an outdoor fire. I was expecting a bone china experience sadly not, this pot was too hot to handle even through the serviette! The lock on the toilet door was broken as was the toilet seat and the hand dryer!! Food was ok shame you only got to choose one variety of sandwich rather than a mixture on your plate. The service was very poor no one bothered to ask if everything was ok, did we need more tea etc. such a shame as it was a gift. Sadly I will give it a miss in the future. I don't expect to be presented with a builders tea pot and pottery cups for afternoon tea when I would expect to be presented with china cups and saucers!! Such a shame attention to detail is lacking. The service issue was blamed on staff sickness and a busy day. !!
angela h . 2024-10-30
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Had a sweet treat (scone, sponge, traybake & a coffee. Plenty of lovely cakes to choose from. Brought a extra scone & coffee so shared this sweet treat with my husband. Plenty for the both of us to enjoy. Service was good.
Jeremy Hanton . 2024-10-27
MORE AT Google
What a great find, google came up trumps. We arrived without a booking (5 in our group) and were accommodated without any problem. Three of us hand the finger sandwiches and all wanted a variation of what was advertised and this was not a problem. The cakes that we had were delicious as were the scones. We spoke to the owner to ask where the name came from and she and all other people serving us were courteous and kind and worked with a smile and humour. Loved this place and would recommend.
ABRY07 . 2024-10-21
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Quaint fun tea shop. Great scones.
Eva Lee-Gabriel . 2024-09-25
MORE AT Google
Yummy gluten free scones. Great vibes. Would love to come here again.
James Bryan . 2024-09-22
MORE AT Google
Had afternoon tea here and it was absolutely delicious. The gentleman who served us was so lovely and very helpful. The sandwiches were really tasty and the scones were fantastic. We had to take the cakes home as we were full. My husband loved the cakes. Will definitely recommend this tea room
caz . 2024-09-20
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Lovely cafe with friendly staff, great food and a lovely coffee as well.
Andy Willson . 2024-09-10
MORE AT Google
What an amazing find on our first true exploration of Norwich. The carrot cake was the best we’ve ever tasted and the apricot fruit scone was crisp on the outside and full of flavour. I tried the Biddy’s tea and it was delightful, hubby went for the smoky Lapsang Souchong and loved it. Add it to your next visit for sure!
Deborah Chapple . 2024-09-07
MORE AT Google
Loved the whole experience at Biddys tea room. Excellent Victotia Sponge cake. Lovely tea. I ended up buying a packet to take home with me.
Courtne Coetzee . 2024-08-26
MORE AT Google
Went in for an impromptu coffee and cake, coffee excellent but even drinking it slowly I'd finished by the time my scone appeared. This was so hard I couldn't cut it easily and it was dry in the middle. Cream had obviously been kept in the small jar it was delivered in for a long time and was the consistency of fudge. Not impressed. And the 10% discount after I complained won't be encouraging me to return. What a shame, I remember it being much better than this.
Robert Moulton . 2024-08-23
MORE AT Google
A friend and I were just walking past and saw someone drinking the nicest looking iced tea so we had to stop and try it, it was very could and can recommend the melon iced tea to everybody!
Joseph Spencer . 2024-08-17
MORE AT Google
Appauling cream tea. Went here because I wanted a lavender scone cream tea, they clearly don’t state on there menu that the scones are warm when served would of been nice to of been asked why would I want a warm scone with clotted cream eww. And also service very poor got pointed to go sit at the sofa and took 15 mins to get my order taken. Won’t be returning anytime soon.
Ellie M . 2024-08-14
MORE AT TripAdvisor
The afternoon tea for two was lovely, the only thing I would of liked to have seen was the waitress, all in a uniform, maybe like a t shirt with biddy's on and black trousers or skirt, but would recommend it to anyone, as had nice food selection, the scone and Victoria sponge cake was delicious, and catered for Gluten free people too
Helen Williams . 2024-08-03
MORE AT Google
For my first time trying afternoon tea, I was amazed with the selection of sandwiches, cake, scones and tea! The portions are huge (so large I couldn’t even start my cake) The staff are happy to give a box for you to take away any leftovers - which I did! I would recommend this lovely place to anyone. I had the hummus, carrot, avacado and balsamic sandwich (served with a little side salad), the Lavender scone and carrot cake. All was delicious and fresh. The Biddy’s blend tea was so good, very sweet ! For around £20 per person it is worth every penny. As a vegetarian there was plenty of options, as the sandwiches are made fresh you can swap out and ingredients to suit.
Chloe Tuck . 2024-08-03
MORE AT Google
A lovely afternoon tea in the sun
Nigel Muir . 2024-08-02
MORE AT Google
Though the service was friendly, this place does not live up to the hype. I would recommend booking in advance. The cakes of the day are showcased behind a glass display case. However there were a couple of flies trapped inside buzzing all over the cakes- not very hygienic. The teas were definitely not strong enough. The scones are massive but I got the fruit scone which was actually a spiced fruit scone and it was overbearing- completely overfull of ginger and nutmeg
Sarah Lalani . 2024-07-31
MORE AT Google
Though the service was friendly, this place does not live up to the hype. I would recommend booking in advance. The cakes of the day are showcased behind a glass display case. However there were a couple of flies trapped inside buzzing all over the cakes- not very hygienic. The teas were definitely not strong enough. The scones are massive but I got the fruit scone which was actually a spiced fruit scone and it was overbearing- completely overfull of ginger and nutmeg.
Sarah L . 2024-07-31
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Afternoon tea with three tiers att Biddys was probably one of our highlights from the week we spent in Norfolk.
Emma Karlsson . 2024-07-01
MORE AT Google
By far the best tea room I’ve visited in Norwich, amazing staff, food and atmosphere, I highly recommend!
Shivraj Keshwala . 2024-06-18
MORE AT Google
The quality and portion sizes of the food and drink is absolutely outstanding. The carrot cake was some of the very best I've had. The sugar and caffeine hit at brunch was just what I needed. Was nice to sit in the light and airy window seat. It was difficult to gauge just how busy things were but the speed of service was slower than expected and by the time it eventually arrived I was getting rather hungry. Would happily return again and hopefully find the service was a little better.
B W . 2024-06-12
MORE AT Google
I ordered 3 afternoon tea vouchers with the beautiful hand written cards, leaving myself very little time to get them to the recipients. The wonderful lady noted my panic stricken email and hand delivered them to me (I did pay the postage as was not trying to be a total nightmare, just very unorganised!! ) fantastic customer service.. You're a superstar!!!
Leanne Jewell . 2024-05-16
MORE AT Google
An amazing range of teas, cakes, sandwiches and more! The staff are all really friendly. It's a very relaxing atmosphere and I can't wait to go back to try more of what they have to offer.
Bianna . 2024-05-04
MORE AT Google
This is such a lovely place for afternoon tea. I was worried we weren't going to get much as you pick one type of sandwich, one scone and one cake BUT I was stuffed and didn't eat for the rest of the day. The portions are massive. We got 3 afternoon teas so picked 3 different sandwiches and cakes and shared them all.
Hannah Howard . 2024-05-02
MORE AT Google
This place should be shut down immediately. Absolutely disgusting filthy dirty.
Martin Hudson . 2024-04-30
MORE AT Google
I tried cream tea here, really good! The scones here are pretty good and huge!, especially the lavender scone! also I like how various types of tea are
Purichaya . 2024-04-30
MORE AT Google
So delicious! Definitely wear something loose fitting when you go (you'll thank me later). Allergens/dietaries are marked clearly, and the staff are accommodating if you have any questions. Prebooking a table is a must, especially if you want the cozy bit in the back! Don't skip the lavender scone, they are THE BEST!
Marz . 2024-04-14
MORE AT Google
Lovely cup of tea with large slice of cake. Staff were lovely too
Keith Mullen . 2024-04-11
MORE AT Google
Took a long time to get served even though it was only 11am. Victoria sponge was average although a generous piece it was dry and very sweet. Given the wrong bill at the end and 2 weeks later still waiting for my refund to come through as I am £19.99 out of pocket still. Assured this was sorted by the shop but still nothing. Waiting a manager call to sort!!
Michael Emery . 2024-04-09
MORE AT Google
We had this brought as a gift We arrived early half an hour told to go away till our time we wanted to sit have a drink and relax no come back staff very rude rushing around like headless chickens. I used the toilet before we left very dirty, smelly and the chain certainly did not flush I tried but to no avail toilet paper all on the floor dust all on the books etc half an hour later back sorry the people are still at the table where you are being seated yet people was walking in off the street asking any spare places oh yes please wait yet we had booked and confirmed via email as you are allocated a time it was over there time so we had to wait we had to go outside at this point my husband asked what was the afternoon tea and was shown by the young lady my husband then replied but it is empty and really nothing to choose for us no cake just brownies we then stood outside waiting again still waiting then we decided to go in and ask again at this point we decided to walk away from such a disorganised tea room what would be the point there was nothing left it was a a gift from our Daughter £40 I want her to have a refund would never recommend this tea room I hope the owner would like to make contact with me for a refund
Happy d . 2024-03-31
MORE AT TripAdvisor
First visit to this lovely tea room. Took a chance with a 'walk-in' and were lucky to get a table as apparently always busy so booking is a sensible option. My wife and I were introduced to Biddys by our daughter and we were not disappointed. Olde Worlde, quirky, vintage mismatched crockery, relaxed atmosphere all adds up to an absolute delight. A menu with plenty of choice of food and teas. All three of us had scone, cake and tea, my daughter's being a vegan option. Servings were plentiful. Oh and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. A proper tea room! A must visit. We will return.
Malcolm Lyell . 2024-03-17
MORE AT Google
Today was our first visit since the refurbishment and the new layout certainly works well without losing anything of Biddy's distinctive character. As always, there was their great selection of sandwiches, cakes and, of course, teas. And, as always, the staff are so friendly and upbeat that you can't help but enjoy your experience. As an added bonus, and an essential one for us, their gluten free range is excellent, especially the scones - cheese and fruit both.
iananderson1109 . 2024-03-12
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Had the build your own afternoon tea. Select a sandwich scone and cake. It was all delicious and surprisingly filling. Several customers asked for boxes to take away their unfinished food. Chairs a bit uncomfortable is my only gripe.
Glenn Bowie . 2024-03-12
MORE AT Google
So pleased that I stumbled on this tea room. Was really a lovely place to relax and impress with its genuine good service and decor. Will happily make this my regular when visiting Norwich. The staff were so kind and gracious. It was fairly busy... The cakes looked amazing.
Melanie M . 2024-02-24
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Lovely afternoon tea with my work friends, the sandwiches and scones were so delicious we didn't talk much about work! We had vouchers as a Christmas gift (£19.95) Unlimited tea with sandwiches, choice of scone and cake. I had ham&brie with chili jam sandwiches, lavender scone with lemon curd, clotted cream&honey drizzled on top, and a double chocolately brownie!
Sadie A . 2024-02-18
MORE AT Google
No cream served with the scone. Frothy coffee was just a flat boring instant coffee. Service slow. Horrible Pyrex cups mixed w nice China saucers, no way! Unisex toilet wasnt flushing properly.
Mary W . 2024-02-17
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Delicious afternoon tea. Cakes and scones are absolutely superb and have the ‘wow factor’. Staff are so friendly and helpful. We always have a wonderful time at Biddy’s.
179emily . 2024-02-16
MORE AT TripAdvisor
We loved Biddy's. Gorgeous cakes, four of us came along this afternoon. Great assortment of teas, we had Builders Teas and Jasmine Teas, also a Lavender Scone with Honey, Carrot Cake, Lemon Cake with Blueberries and Bakewell Tart. All were divine! Generous portions, pleasant ambience, dog friendly. Service very good. Look forward to returning when in Norwich again!
Elizabeth Wyatt . 2024-02-06
MORE AT Google
This was our first visit to Biddy's Tea Room and overall the experience was very good, apart from the service. We opted for the Afternoon Tea, which was lovely, thick cut wholemeal bread, awesome spiced fruit sconz and a lovely moist carrot cake. The decor was very quaint and a lovely atmosphere. The only downside was the service, we sat at our table for twenty minutes before the waitress came over to check what we would like to order. We didn't realise that you need to specify which sandwichs, scones and cakes you would like, as no one told use. We noticed the couple who sat next to us had the same issues. I went for the coffee rather than tea, which was tepid at the very best. We had to ask for a knife to cut the scones and then later a fork to eat the cake, both times we got strange looks, as if to say why do you need these for. I hate to be negative but it spoil our afternoon tea.
Chris Horton . 2024-02-04
MORE AT Google
Very disappointed Booked my sons girlfriend and I afternoon tea for Christmas present Got there just before the 130 booked time Was asked to go upstairs by a young man and someone would show us our table That didn’t happen We chose our own table and unfortunately had to go and find someone to take our order Also had to go find someone to get another pot of tea Such a shame x
Scenic671233 . 2024-01-28
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Food was incredible, service was excellent however if I had used the rest room before ordering I would have left immediately…. Absolutely disgusting… no privacy as door wouldn’t close, floor was filthy, sinks were disgusting … not sure when it was last cleaned …. if this is the public facing side of the business I dread to think what the chefs toilets must be like…. Such a shame as spoilt a great experience 🤮
Clare Hodgson . 2024-01-09
MORE AT Google
Such a quirky little place with very friendly service, lovely attention to detail (eg the little crochet mitts to hold the tea pots), very generous portions of cake and big pots of tea, and really delicious cake! We had the coffee and caramel gluten free cake and we ordered a second slice it was so good. Definitely to return!
Marguerite . 2024-01-03
MORE AT Google
we did afternoon tea for four with a child. kid friendly! portions were great, sandwiches were delicious!! it’s fun to customise your trays. cakes were a tad sweet but it was lovely and cosy.
Cami McConkie . 2024-01-03
MORE AT Google
It's very hard to find somewhere to have tea that is different but this place is really good for all sorts of tea.
Ben Allen . 2023-12-21
MORE AT Google
Friendly staff, warm atmosphere with cosy and comfortable seating. Incredible range of tea flavours - I recommend the apple and cinnamon, and plum and cinnamon at this time of year! - and cakes too. We had the Victoria Sponge with spiced plum jam. Generous portion sizes. I love the different shaped plates and mugs, and all the quirky decorations inside. A beautiful, unique cafe that I have frequented many times. Thank you Biddys!
Katherine Schutte . 2023-12-19
MORE AT Google
Was a lovley place, they even have gluten free items. We had a sandwhich and sausage roll and for afters some cake and I have to say best carrot cake I have ever had and they portion size was incredible 😋 will definitely be returning.
Lilly Lee . 2023-12-17
MORE AT Google
Stumbled on this little tea room by accident. Proper querky and has a huge selection of teas and the cakes looked epic. Went the the traditional fruit scone with jam and clotted cream and it did not disappoint. Will definitely be back to sample more delights
Stuart Davies . 2023-11-30
MORE AT Google
Food lovely but service not the best
Alan Tucker . 2023-11-25
MORE AT Google
I've been going to Biddy's in Norwich for years because the cakes are quite unique and high quality, and the staff are friendly and trying so hard so I feel bad saying anything negative about it--- ---but since it's been redecorated a few years ago it's gone so downhill. It used to have so much whimsical memorabilia on the walls but most of it has disappeared somehow? And now the things that are left look plain old rather than vintage. The plants in the windowsill used to be plentiful and green but they're mostly dead now and haven't been replaced. Like most people who leave Biddy's one star, my main problem is with the hygiene. Everything is dusty and smeared and there's crumbs in the floor. It smells odd and it's pretty dark and unventilated so you feel like you're breathing in the grime. The bathroom is the worst. It smells strongly of mould, the toilet roll and walls are always damp and it just feels gross to a point I avoid using it. There's a room towards the back you have to sit in if there's no other tables. It's full of sofas and the tables are wooden army-like chests. I think the owners think this is fun or whimsical or something but it's actually so difficult to eat a full afternoon tea leaned right over a knee-high box??? On a squashy, deep sofa. You spill things. Old people physically can't sit like that. You have to balance your (very small) plate on your lap which makes buttering scones very very difficult. Just give us tables!!! You could fit so many more people in as well!! You're always turning away customers because there are no tables available but honestly if you replaced that sofa set up you could get 5 tables in rather than 3. Plus I don't know if this is relevant but the whole atmosphere of that back room is really off-putting because it is just SO dark. And there's a sheet nailed to the ceiling?? It feels like dust is falling from it into your food. And the wallpaper makes it look more dingy; it's yellowed with age and peeling. Some nice paint and a proper light would really clean that room up. Maybe just turn that whole area into the kitchen? You need a proper kitchen. I see the staff bustling and dodging around each other trying to make sandwiches squashed up on the same single counter as the cash register. That's unhygienic and it means the staff are always in the way of each other and having to shove through customers to bring out the food. They are obviously understaffed and over worked. It takes ages for orders to come and be taken, and everyone looks in a rush---which isn't a complaint, I just feel sorry for them. Drinks often arrive cold; every hot chocolate and milk-based coffee I've had has been luke warm. Why can't you heat up the milk? And why does the hot chocolate powder taste like that cheap Cadburys stuff you get at Sainsbury's? You're charging quite a bit, and your food is so nice, why not try a bit harder with the drinks? You have chocolate and caramel sauce you put over the cakes, why not drizzle some over the drinks, make them seem worth the money/a bit special? Idk. You used to put chocolate sauce around the cup but you haven't given me one like that for about 2 years. Just plain old stuff I could make at home. Um yeah so love the food, love the IDEA of Biddy's, the staff are trying so hard, but please just: - Keep the place clean - Re-do the whole bathroom. Sort out the damp. - Put tables in the back room. Just re-vamp the whole dark, cramped little back room, it looks like a murderer's basement with that sheet on the ceiling honestly. - Turn it into a proper, clean, organised kitchen. The staff will thank you for it. - Try harder with drinks. Serve. Them. Hot. Please. Thank you for letting me say my piece, again I absolutely love the homemade food, and the staff are so friendly and really trying their best with quite a difficult work situation. I know money is tight but just rearranging some furniture and having a good clean might really help. Sorry I've been so harsh, I just love coming here and want to see it succeed! It's so unique and got so much potential. Thanks again.
seattley2022 . 2023-11-21
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Had a lovely afternoon tea here. I really liked that you could build it yourself, selecting sandwich, scone, cake and your style of tea. Everything was delicious 😋 Would very happily come back here again!
Jennifer Smith . 2023-11-18
MORE AT Google
So lucky to find this quaint little place. Gorgeous hot chocolate. Staff were lovely helpful and polite. We were visiting Norwich for just a few hours in the rain. The young lady saw us looking at our map and came over to help us. Recommended it to others.
Grengee . 2023-11-03
MORE AT TripAdvisor
They need to turn the MuzaK off - very annoying. Food was good and as it was freshly made it took a while to arrive. You must book in advance and get a confirmation email as it is very very popular
Ian Dinmore . 2023-11-02
MORE AT Google
Was astonished my the great selection of vegan options, me and my friend shared a vegan afternoon tea which was very filling and cost only £17.95, so great value! Wide selection of teas and vegan cakes, all of their scones can be made vegan. The service was lovely and the decor is beautiful. It's normally quite busy and we were lucky to get a table so reccomend pre-booking on peak times. Highly reccomend to any vegans in the area ☺️.
rohanimeplays . 2023-10-28
MORE AT Google
Not a patch on Aylsham. We were seated then asked to share our table with another pair, which we did, and then the four of us were promptly forgotten about by the staff, who were standing chatting in a group behind the till when we decided to leave after getting no service!
Caroline Scott . 2023-10-19
MORE AT Google
Nice little cafe with a difference. Good way to spend an hour with friends.
Lyn Shelton . 2023-10-17
MORE AT Google
Really lovely afternoon tea, and the food was amazing! The staff was very helpful and recommend us some delicious sandwiches and cakes:)
Spinach Mellow . 2023-10-15
MORE AT Google
Went in today 14th October 2023. Left after waiting 20 minutes and nobody came to take our order. On leaving we saw 3 staff members giggling and in private conversation by the till. Not impressed. Never again. Far too many other places to choose from.
Jan Scott . 2023-10-14
MORE AT Google
Lovely afternoon tea, great Gluten free options. Staff friendly and helpful.
Robin Ward . 2023-10-05
MORE AT Google
My son & I booked up for afternoon tea & we were seated in this nice tearoom upstairs. I had the traditional afternoon tea & my son picked the high tea which he enjoyed. The staff were good & friendly but when I was asked which type of tea I wanted they suggested breakfast tea & i said so long as it’s strong & both members of staff said o yes definitely! But I left it in the pot to brew for ages but couldn’t get any strength at all, I tried stirring it but it was very weak & not enjoyable. The food was very good & nice that you can pick from a selection of food for afternoon tea but you can only have one filling for the sandwich one scone either sweet or savoury & one huge piece of cake, so although the food was good I prefer a selection of finger sandwiches, a mini savoury & sweet scone & two or three mini cakes which is usual for an afternoon tea elsewhere. Prices were ok. Nice atmosphere & got quite busy.
663avrilk . 2023-10-03
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Mixed review and overall experience, Clearly a popular venue, but certainly in need of someone front of house, welcoming and organising. Waited ages to order Afternoon Tea and then observed many customers being turned away at the door ? The walk in and booking system doesn’t seem to gel / work with tables empty for long periods. Eventually our selection arrived which was well presented and very enjoyable. Again a long delay in service when finishing and paying, nobody aware of this and why the whole operation isn’t running as smoothly and successfully as it could, a simple suggestion would be to put a friendly and welcoming face delegating and orchestrating from the moment you arrive.
Clive Jones . 2023-10-01
MORE AT Google
A great little spot for some afternoon tea in Norwich. I love the way here that you can customise your own afternoon tea by selecting which sandwich you would like, what scone flavour and what cake. I like this because some places just give you no choice and you don’t like certain things. However, at Biddy’s Tea Room there is so many options to choose from ! I was really impressed with the kindness of the staff and they were very fast and attentive. I even asked to swap out my tea for a Diet Coke and the staff were really helpful and friendly to swap it out for me at no extra charge which I was really impressed with. The place is clean and the cafe is decorated in a nice way. Highly recommend if you’re in Norwich and looking for some afternoon tea !
Alex Crisp . 2023-10-01
MORE AT Google
The service is really really slow however it's friendly, atmospheric and the food is divine
Sharon Jane . 2023-09-30
MORE AT Google
As a Norwich local, this is my favourite cafe, although only visited once. The cake portions are huge, as well as the teapots, we couldnt manage it all! They were beautiful. Best cafe we have been to
Neve C . 2023-09-30
MORE AT Google
차는 물론이고 샌드위치부터 스콘 케익까지 모두 너무 맛있었어요. 아늑하고 멋진 인테리어에 반했고 음식에 놀랐어요. 영국여행에서 제일 좋았던 순간이었어요.
E L . 2023-09-28
MORE AT Google
Lovely food. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Amazing selection of cakes. Will be coming back. Definitely recommend.
Mel West . 2023-09-28
MORE AT Google
Have been here multiple times and each time a similar thing had a occurred. Went as a big table, 8 of us and the place was empty, we asked if there was a table for us and they said no, but we asked if we could sit on the tables that were separate and they said yes, bit strange. But oh well. Another occasion we visited as a 4, and sat in the back, the staff had told some people waiting for a table that we were nearly finished, (we still had a full pot of tea and we’re still eating cakes!) so for the remainder of our visit the people waiting for our table were staring at us, this made us leave early and not happy about this either. Cakes are excellent, but the service is really not great and this lets down the place. It comes across that no one wants to serve you. A table of 8 when you are empty is some good cash for the tills, so I don’t quite understand why they wouldn’t want that. The fact that I have visited a few times (for the concept and with different family members) and had a similar event happen each time, is a real put off to me visiting again & I am local.
744bet1754 . 2023-09-17
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Always lovely food when coming here..the cakes especially are amazing! Friendly service as always too.
James Ransom . 2023-09-15
MORE AT Google
Just had coffees outside, (although the food looked great we had already eaten) staff exceedingly lovely, even offered refills! The coffee was really good. Gave a very positive impression of Norwich people :)
Helen Henderson . 2023-09-13
MORE AT Google
Came here for an afternoon tea after hearing it is the place to go . It was ok we waited quite a while to be seen to; while eating for our food we not once asked if everything was ok or if we wanted anymore tea or coffee . The staff didn’t seem like they really wanted to be there . I wouldn’t rant and rave about it
E3468NWemilym . 2023-09-09
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Biddys tea room was banging ,we got an afternoon tea,with fruit scone,cheese scone,carrot cake and a Biscoff blondie with chicken and stuffing sandwich aswell as hummus,avocado ,balsamic carrot sandwhich,all was delicious ,highly rate the food,even the scones was warm. Me and my other half were struggling with what cake to order as there was loads of choice.we asked are server pip what she would recommend ,and she recommended the carrot cake ,I wasn’t sure if I would like the orange icing so she went out of her way to let me try a bit so I would know if I liked it.the staff were lovely and would highly recommend to a friend and big up our waitress pip, their blonde colleague with the funky glasses was also really lovely :).
Ellie B . 2023-09-08
MORE AT TripAdvisor
I visited yesterday. Twice in fact. The first time I sat for more than 10 minutes outside with no one coming out to take an order so I decided to return when it was less crowded. The second time, around 2:15pm, there was one table ordering and several finishing up so I thought there was a better chance. My order was taken but it took ~30 minutes to receive my scone and jam. The scone itself - plain, gluten free - was fine, a bit too sweet and with only a very small pot of clotted cream given the size of the scone. I was disappointed and won’t return.
Ellen Goldberg . 2023-09-08
MORE AT Google
Went with my daughter who had been given a voucher as a present..the food was delicious..staff were lovely..will be definitely going again 🙂
Mel Palmer . 2023-08-23
MORE AT Google
The place is beautifully decorated, and the service was amazing. I had the biddy’s tea blend and it was delicious, the cake, scones and sandwiches were fab!
K . 2023-08-16
MORE AT Google
Located in Lower Goat Lane, what a great little lunch or tea place Biddy’s Cafe turned out to be with home made cakes, sandwiches and tea in china cups. Perfect. The freshly made sandwiches were delicious and the pot of tea very welcome. The background music was all from the 1920’s which was so refreshing because it wasn’t too loud that it made conversation difficult. The staff couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful. Definitely a place to come back to.
Althea W . 2023-08-16
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Great visit to Biddys today. This was our first time visiting and it was such a pleasant experience. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The food was exceptional. The coronation chicken sandwich was very tasty with the cheese scone still slightly warm and fresh from the oven. The coffee and walnut cake was delightfully decadent. We will certainly be back!
camo1988 . 2023-08-12
MORE AT TripAdvisor
These schedules may not be completely accurate on special days. Please always confirm with the restaurant
Similary restaurants in East of England
357 Opinions
Very friendly staff but no real ale and I didn't like the selection of 'fizzy' beer. Down market pub with friendly staff and friendly locals, just not for me.
238 Opinions
953 Opinions
Best roast beef ever. Generous portion and so tender and flavourful. Superb !
604 Opinions
Proper pub serving proper ales and decent grub. Lovely atmosphere. Beautiful original features.
512 Opinions