Based on 2.086 opinions finded in 2 websites
Based on 2.086 opinions finded in 2 websites
Opinions
Popped in for a lunch service and food was super Will be back Thankyou
Sara-Jane Stewart . 2025-03-24
MORE AT Google
Shocking service! Felt like I had to beg to get a drink on my table let alone the food eventually coming an hour after- maybe its tactical to make you buy more drinks, but doesn't work as you can't collar a staff member to do so! And the Manager... absolute shocking attitude, I felt sorry for the staff having to work under him, they looked mortified by his attitude. I don't know how you keep staff. Also very confused as to how you have so many 5 star reviews? It is a nice setting and thats literally all you have to offers. Wish I had read the 1 star reviews before going as they are very accurate! Absolute waste of money!
Neen . 2025-03-23
MORE AT Google
Absolutely terrible experience from start to finish. We had high hopes for this place, but it quickly became clear that good service is not a priority here. The staff were rude, inattentive, untrained, and made us feel like we were inconveniencing them just by being there. The wait time for food was ridiculous and when it finally arrived, it was cold. We tried to address this with the manager, but that turned out to be an even bigger mistake. Instead of apologising or offering a solution, they were dismissive and downright rude—zero accountability, zero professionalism. Safe to say, we won’t be back. If you value decent service and basic respect, steer clear of this place.
Bryce . 2025-03-23
MORE AT Google
The location and decor of the restaurant are lovely. Unfortunately, our dining experience for our group of six was marred by poor service. We waited a long time for drinks, which were incorrectly ordered and even forgotten, and our food was not delivered all at once, after more than an hour of waiting, and asking for our food, despite the restaurant not being busy at that time. The service level from the staff was far below expectations, and when we expressed our concerns to the manager as we were leaving, his response was less than satisfactory. While he apologized, he mentioned that everyone else was happy, which felt rather dismissive of our experience. It’s a shame, as the setting could be fantastic, but we will not be returning due to the lack of proper service.
Fiona Richardson . 2025-03-23
MORE AT Google
Worst service I have ever experienced. Asked the untrained waitress what beers they had and was told she didn't know as she doesn't drink! Forgot most of the drinks order. Brought a bottle with no glasses. Almost had to beg for our food order to be taken which took approximately 50 minutes to arrive. Food arrived about 10 minutes apart leaving half the table finished their meal and the other half still waiting. My hamburger was cold. One meal completely forgotten about. Asked to speak to a manager who I am still waiting for. Asked for the bill which had to be sent back as it was incorrect. On my way out we spoke to the manager who had a shirt half tucked in and looking flustered behind the bar. I was told the waitress was a trainee and basically nobody else was complaining. Major attitude like we were a total inconvenience. I realised our concerns were not important and were being shrugged off by more incompetent staff. I told him I would rather just leave a review and got this response whilst laughing "Thanks so much for your review". Would not go back to this establishment if I was paid to.
Tracey Yoko . 2025-03-23
MORE AT Google
It’s rare that a member of staff can influence your entire experience at a restaurant, but Scott did just that at breakfast. Everyone was laughing, uplifted and cheerful because of how he carried the room. He’s a real asset to the company (and a ray of sunshine in general). Food was good too. ;)
Rebecca Wild . 2025-03-15
MORE AT Google
Ate here for 4 nights while staying in Stow last week spending around £180 each night for 4 of us. Food in general was amazing but extremely disappointed with the price of the key lime pie dessert at £9.45 which was no wider than 1 inch at the largest end of the wedge so we did not order any more desserts all week as a result . Spoke to staff who kept saying mention it tomorrow night but nothing actioned and spoke to Carl on our last night who asked for us to submit this feedback. Hoping to return in autumn from North Wales but will need reassuring on size of desserts before ordering again as very poor value last week and not worth it.
Lesley Williams . 2025-03-10
MORE AT Google
Sunday roast was cooked to perfection.
Yinan Wang . 2025-03-10
MORE AT Google
Food was ok, service was awfully rude. The man seemed very stressed about seating arrangements, shouting at other staff members which I found very unprofessional and then sharp and rude to customers too! Saw a few people leave after being spoken to abruptly and moved around multiple times. Safe to say I wouldn’t come back..
Molly Vallance . 2025-03-01
MORE AT Google
We spent 2 lovely nights B&B in two newly refurbished rooms. They were done to a very high standard and cannot fault anything! Great friendly service. Great value for money. We would definitely recommend staying if you want to visit Stow. We are hoping to go back!
Caroline P . 2025-02-28
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Great place!! We stopped by by chance and couldn't have left happier. The food was delicious and the waitress was super friendly and gave us great recommendations. We definitely recommend it 100%!
Rosendo Rovira Molina Ros . 2025-02-28
MORE AT Google
We had a wonderful anniversary stay at The Sheep. The staff couldn’t do enough to help us and we really enjoyed relaxing in the bar/restaurant for most of the afternoon and evening! It’s really cosy in the bar area and everywhere is clean and decor to a high standard! Great location on the High St too. Would 100% recommend!
cmhj23 . 2025-02-25
MORE AT Google
We visited this evening and had a lovely time. Our friendly waiter Corey made the evening flow with ease and his customer service was exemplary.
Leanne . 2025-02-22
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Great visit with daughter for lunch. Went back the next evening, asked for a table for one. Shame, young man said, table for one? Being brave enough to go out, when on your own, can be hard, even the first step, on a journey you didn't choose. Sadly, his attitude and , said, half hour to 40 mins. Put me off, wish I had stayed. But, left, lost that go get out there! Please, just think, we don't always choose to be on our own! Sort of place I really would have felt comfortable in too!
Jeanne Berlen . 2025-02-21
MORE AT Google
On the 28th of January, my partner and I visited The Sheep on Sheep Street in Stow-on-the-Wold, lured in by the charming venue and an enticing menu. Unfortunately, what followed was one of the most disappointing meals we’ve ever had the misfortune of paying for. To start, we ordered the cheese soufflé, which arrived frozen in the middle. At £10 for a starter, one would expect a freshly prepared dish, not something that tasted like it had been hastily defrosted. This was a poor beginning to what only got worse. For the main course, my partner had the salmon in tomato sauce, while I opted for the lamb shank. The salmon was an absolute letdown – the sauce was watery and devoid of any flavour, and the fish itself was completely unseasoned. As for the lamb shank, it was mediocre at best, lacking the depth of flavour and tenderness one would expect from a dish at this price point. By this stage, we were so disheartened by the quality of the food that we decided against ordering dessert. We simply couldn’t face any further disappointments. What truly compounded our disappointment was the lack of accountability from the restaurant. After such a subpar experience, I reached out to both the Honeycomb Group and the general manager of The Sheep to express my concerns about the exorbitant prices for the poor quality of food we were served. To date, I have received no response, which speaks volumes about the level of care (or lack thereof) from management. The staff who served us seemed almost embarrassed but unsurprised when we returned our dishes, which makes me wonder if this is a regular occurrence. If so, it’s a shame that such a beautiful venue is let down by such careless standards in the kitchen and management. In summary, if you’re looking for a nice spot for a drink, The Sheep might suffice. But if you’re after a decent meal, I would strongly advise you to look elsewhere. Overpriced, underwhelming, and utterly forgettable – save your money and your taste buds.
Jack Corry . 2025-02-18
MORE AT Google
Nice pizza, poor service. We had booked a table, but when we arrived, we were ignored by the female manager - she just walked straight past us multiple times and didn't say a word. Gave up and decided to get a takeaway pizza instead. Also, the general atmosphere was lots of young children running around and more pub than restaurant.
Abi Myatt . 2025-02-17
MORE AT Google
Lovely experience. Scott was lovely and attentive. We came for dinner and breakfast - would definitely come back. Crumble was lovely
Zarah Ashmeade . 2025-02-17
MORE AT Google
Lovely place, great vibe and really modern/smart. Food was excellent overall and the service was friendly. Only problem was we had two pizzas in the order and they seemed to slow everything quite a bit as there were tables around us getting food (without pizzas) pretty quickly! Suspect we waited 50 minutes for our food.
A B . 2025-02-17
MORE AT Google
Having read some alarming reviews in regards to The Sheep, written since November onwards, I was a little nervous to the point I felt the need to enquire with the establishment directly 2 weeks before thinking I may need to cancel and look for somewhere else. I am so pleased to be able to write a really positive review, as we encountered none of the issues some people have written recently. We were warmly greeted by the lovely lady on reception and directed to our room. We had booked the Signature room and it was really nice, comfortable and warm, perhaps a little too warm but turned the radiator down and all good. We had booked a table in the restaurant and glad we had as it was very busy. The food was excellent and we were looked after really well by Zac. Breakfast also excellent. Good quality products and very tasty. All the staff we interacted with were polite, helpful and friendly. I am so glad we ignored the recent poor reviews as we would have missed out on a really lovely stay. From our experience, I would highly recommend the Sheep as we had a great time and would definitely return when visiting the beautiful Cotswolds again. Thank you to the team for making our weekend away so memorable for all the right reasons.
Swadboy2 . 2025-02-16
MORE AT TripAdvisor
We have just come home from a wonderful two-night stay at the Sheep. A lovely welcome when we arrived. The room (premium room 19) was gorgeous. Had a lovely jacuzzi bath and a little garden terrace (shame the weather was not great!) We had dinner in the restaurant, a great meal. Really buzzy in there on a Sat night. A fantastic atmosphere, lovely food and friendly service. The fireplace in the reception area was another nice touch especially on a cold evening. After a relaxing night sleep we were served a tasty breakfast with loads of options to choose from. Served to our table so no up-and-down to a buffet. The Sheep was welcoming, cosy, friendly and a great place to spend a weekend away discovering the beautiful Stow-on-the-wold and other local villages. We would definitely recommend this hotel. They have thought of everything you would want for a perfect break
Katy Lesner . 2025-02-11
MORE AT Google
A weekend away to celebrate my birthday & 29th c wedding anniversary! We visit frequently as we love Stow on the Wold & I work in the area. Love The Sheep & The Porch House, great places with fab staff!
Nicky Wildin . 2025-02-09
MORE AT Google
Great pub and food excellent - special mention to the staff who were brilliant.
Andy Armstrong . 2025-02-09
MORE AT Google
Came for lunch and it’s a lovely little location in Stow! The food is fantastic - fresh sourdough pizza is brilliant. Scott was brilliant and a joy serving us. We will be coming back!
Emily Bruce . 2025-02-07
MORE AT Google
Great location, ambience and food. Highly recommended. Late service too which is an unexpected bonus.
Shane Blackwell . 2025-02-07
MORE AT Google
We were in Stow-on-the-Wold for my wife's birthday yesterday and we liked the outside of Sheep on Sheep Street so popped in, and had a lovely welcome from a Canadian gentleman. My wife lived in Canada for a year, so the conversation flowed effortlessly. Breakfast (including pancakes with maple syrup) was lovely and the décor was lovely too. We will be returning. We enjoyed it.
Ross Wright . 2025-02-07
MORE AT TripAdvisor
The first thing we noticed was how beautiful and welcoming the design of the place was. We were then greeted by Scott who looked after us wonderfully providing us with amazing recommendations. The food was exceptional. We had the focaccia and halloumi sticks as a starter and they were perfect. For mains we had the chicken and chorizo burger and the steak and ale pie. The burger was great but the pie was out of this world. Hands down the best pie I’ve had. We then had the Apple and honey crumble and the pecan pie. Both were delicious and you can tell they were homemade. An all round amazing experience and will 100% be back.
Jack Collins-Woodfine . 2025-02-06
MORE AT Google
We had booked a table for my brothers 30th Birthday. We have visited many times previously, having lived in the area for many years. However on this occasion, I can honestly say it was one of the worse meals and service I ever received. We had pre-ordered food as we were a large number, having arrived at 130, shown to our table and our drinks order taken - this was all going ok. We then got a our drinks and that was when it started going downhill, 45 minutes had passed and no-one had returned to the table to check everyone had arrived and whether we were ready for our food. We then went up to find someone to ask when our food would be coming out, to be told we can't put any food orders through until everyone was here (we were all there) we also asked having pre-ordered surely our order would already be with the kitchen, it appears this was not the case. Our order was then put through, a short while later our starters arrived - which were ok, though the bread roll that came with the one starter had been microwaved to an inch of its life and wasn't edible, we had barely had the staters 5 minutes when our main courses were brought to us while still having our starter, so we quickly had to make room for the main courses and then a couple of the starter plates were just left in the middle of the table until we asked for them to be cleared. The main courses then continued to come out, however mine & my partners food was a good 10 minutes after everyone else's. We then asked for some sauces to come out, this took over 10 minutes to be brought to the table and by this time the majority of the table had nearly finished the food, this wasn't the only issue with the sauces. It was a Sunday, so had all ordered a roast dinner so the usual sauces were provided along with Mayonnaise & Ketchup - not sure where the logic in that was. We then said to the lady who served us this how unhappy we were with how we had been treated, for her to then start shouting back at the member of the party and pointing, saying how rude we had been, how the staff were not wanting to serve our table and how we throw the bread across the table - Can I just say this was all very over extracted. She was the most rudest member of staff I have experienced and to find out she was a manager was absolutely shocking. Having been in the hospitality trade for over 20 years I know all full well on how to deal with customers and that certainly was not the way. We also didn't have a pleasant experience with the gentleman who was serving us, again he was rude and very abrupt. Overall it was a really bad experience and we shall not be returning. Having read previous comments, it appears there is an ongoing trend with certain members of your team so I would suggest something needs to be done if you are wanting to keep a good reputation. Another couple of things to add, apart from the first drink we ordered no further drinks were offered to our table and we learned that the restaurant was closing on that day which was noticeable with the staff of not really wanting to be there or serve customers. On a positive note, the young girl that was also serving us was very pleasant and helpful - maybe the managers need to take a leaf out of her book.
Anna M . 2025-01-23
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Stopped here for a meal whilst travelling, food and service both amazing.
martyn adams . 2025-01-17
MORE AT Google
So disappointed. Booked online to have an enjoyable lunch before our long journey home. Arrived to be told the system shouldn’t have allowed it and they wouldn’t honour our booking. A courtesy email or phone call would have been the minimum expected. Hungry with 2 starving kids in tow trying to find somewhere to eat.
Claire G . 2025-01-03
MORE AT TripAdvisor
This is a bit difficult to review. We stayed over for New Year's Eve with bed and breakfast. The room was stunning, with its small and cosy atmosphere that perfectly fit the expectations one would have for a room in a very old building. Tea/coffee facilities. T,V, fresh cookies/water. The bathroom was incredibly spacious, with plenty of room to move around and an absolutely delightful large shower. The stairs leading up to our room were incredibly steep and had a winding design, giving off an old and unique vibe that only added to the overall charm and character of this stunning building. We pre-booked a table for our New Year evening meal. The table we were seated at for dinner was perfect, with the combination of delicious food and exceptional service making for a truly superb dining experience. A little criticism was the lack of space for a drink when I first came with friends. The staff informed us that all tables had been reserved, and unfortunately, we were unable to find a place to sit. We ended up sitting in the lobby in the hotel reception and going somewhere else to drink. Despite initially planning to give a five-star rating for my recent stay, I must unfortunately lower my rating due to the unpleasant breakfast experience. As this was a bed and breakfast stay, the quality of breakfast greatly affected my overall impression, and I feel it is necessary to mark down accordingly. Tea and orange juice/continental choice - lovely. Great to have a teapot. Unfortunately, my breakfast was served cold, and to make matters worse, we never received a table check and had to actively seek out a staff member's attention. I spoke to the waitress, who kindly offered to have my dish heated up, but I politely requested a fresh plate be served instead. Unfortunately, my husband's fried egg was more baked than fried, resulting in a hard and overcooked egg. The bacon was also quite brittle, lacking the desired crispiness. Additionally, the mushroom served was disappointingly small, and the beans were served cold. Despite his request for the beans to be reheated, he was never given a replacement. My friend, who specifically requested eggs on top of sourdough toast accompanied by mushrooms, arrived with only a single, solitary mushroom. After ten minutes, my replacement breakfast arrived. Once again, the bacon was disappointingly brittle and hard, to match the undercooked poached eggs with their snotty egg white and excessively runny yolk. The potatoes lacked the desired crispness, and the field mushroom was disappointingly small in size. However, on a positive note, the dish was served hot, and the sausage was of good quality. I refrained from voicing my dissatisfaction the second time around. I wasn't even asked if everything was satisfactory. Furthermore, there was no follow-up check on our table again. If I had received a second replacement, it would have been almost time for me to check out. It was such a shame. It is not the standard I expected in an establishment like this one. Although the New Year's Eve meal and overnight stay were delightful and comfortable, unfortunately, the breakfast that followed completely ruined the experience.
LadyBerlioz . 2025-01-01
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Service was good from walking in to leaving. Staff were attentive and the food was great. Would recommend and visit again.
Fi . 2024-12-28
MORE AT TripAdvisor
This establishment seems to have a policy, on negative reviews, to respond to the effect, “Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience so we may further assist you in working towards a resolution.” Following such a request, I have emailed them twice without response. Is their wording simply a device to appear as if they want to help or has something gone wrong? What do you think?
863robert . 2024-12-22
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Terrible!! Went in there for a drink and both bar staff were serving drinks for tables in the restaurant and there was no bar staff to serve drinkers!! Shocking service, if you can go elsewhere then do! Not acceptable service at all.
Lee551247 . 2024-12-22
MORE AT TripAdvisor
We arrived a little early so we had a drink at the bar. Our bartender was very helpful and nice. When our table was ready we had prompt service. Dinner was delicious we had the wagyu burger and haddock. We had a lovely visit and our waitress Adele was wonderful. We really enjoyed chatting with her and she was very kind and attentive.
Lacie Whitesell . 2024-11-23
MORE AT Google
The food was of a very high standard overall, cooked to perfection and the flavours were beautiful. We did have a cheese souffle for starters and both unfortunately arrived cold. However, I politely pointed this out and Paul who was the Head Waiter and he was so apologetic, he then went above and beyond to rectify this. I can honestly say that the service we received from the off set, and even after my complaint was excellent. Paul was very transparent and honest regarding the initial food dissatisfaction that we received and the whole food experience afterwards was exceptional. We travelled here to meet out friends from over 100 miles away who recommended eating at this establishment, when we visit again, we would definitely dine here once more. The salmon was cooked to perfection, which can be difficult for a fish dish. Thank you for making storm Bert more bearable, we had a wonderful Saturday daytime lunch experience, and I would like to give a big shout out to Paul and to all the service team, especially to the waitress Mia, who was so friendly and efficient. Also a massive thank you to all the bar waiting staff and to the chefs who took our comments on board and delivered excellent, succulent hot food. Highly recommend.
Clare Leigh-Tonks . 2024-11-23
MORE AT Google
Nice well presented food served by friendly staff. Whilst the service was good it did take a little time for the food to come. Initially one of our starters was wrong and had to be replaced. Then our main meals of steak and ale pie and Fish and Chips arrived at 9.30pm (our booking was at 8pm). Eating late is never great so if I was to book again I would go for an earlier booking to take into consideration the waiting time.
Tonypredarmy . 2024-10-29
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Appalling service Room had cracked bathroom window, dripping tap, dripping shower Ruined our stay we have complained and no response Mould in shower
lynnjago . 2024-10-26
MORE AT TripAdvisor
The restaurant is nicely appointed/decorated, a very nice physical environment. Our experience of the food was, very average. However, sometimes the average food experience can be more than made up by the warm and welcoming hosting and hospitality offered, but we did not experience this either. I did wonder what it might feel like for the staff to work there. I may of course have visited on a rare 'off day' but it has certainly put me off returning.
Scone2 . 2024-10-26
MORE AT TripAdvisor
We had a really excellent Sunday dinner here. Great friendly service and the meal was first class. Highly recommended.
Philip Ashdown . 2024-10-21
MORE AT Google
Great Sunday roast The Sheep today 👌
simon mills . 2024-10-20
MORE AT Google
Lunch for 4 at the Sheep - very nice restaurant, much larger than it looks from outside with a nice patio at the back which we didnt sample due to torrential rain today! Fish & chips x 3 and Duck Salad, all very tasty with good sized portions.
Chris Grieve . 2024-10-20
MORE AT Google
Nine of us had dinner at SOSS last Saturday evening. It was very busy but nonetheless we were well looked after and the service was very good. We had a wide range of starters, mains and desserts. Everything was as described on the menu, tasty and was cooked to perfection While some of the prices seemed a little high the quality and service were such that it was very good value for money
johnboyPeterborough . 2024-10-17
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Such a lovely welcome from Lois who seated us and advised on menus. The decor is stylish and comfortable. Busy for a Monday! Duck Salad was delicious. Whispering Angel by the glass a bonus! Will be back!
hardycotswolds . 2024-10-17
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Excellent service from Daniela . Delicious food and fabulous ambience
SUE PRIOR . 2024-10-14
MORE AT Google
A nice pub, in the middle of Stow. I found pricing to be reasonable and staff to be fairly friendly. My disappointments were the bar wait times and the fact that they stopped serving breakfast early. Their website incorrectly stated breakfast timings, which I do not see as being appropriate in today's digital age. Staff simply shrugged and said that the website was wrong
Ben Lawn . 2024-10-13
MORE AT Google
Happened to stumble across The Sheep whilst looking for somewhere for lunch. A lovely restaurant with very friendly staff. The food was delicious, especially the beetroot hummus, and came out very quickly.
Darcie Browning . 2024-10-13
MORE AT Google
Sheep's on Sheep Street delivers a Sunday roast that feels like meeting a very polite, well-mannered friend—you’re happy to see them, but wish they had a bit more spark. The portion sizes were generous without being overwhelming, leaving you satisfied but not rolling out the door. The roast itself was good, but it seemed like the kitchen played it safe. A little more seasoning or a bolder gravy could have turned it into something memorable. The atmosphere inside is charming, with a cozy, rustic vibe that makes you feel like you’re in the heart of the Cotswolds. And speaking of, the location is absolutely ideal. After your meal, you can step outside and embark on a scenic stroll through one of the prettiest parts of England. It’s the kind of place that pairs a decent roast with the promise of fresh country air—what’s not to love about that? Overall, Sheep's on Sheep Street is a solid choice for a Sunday roast, especially if you’re not after anything too adventurous. With a dash more flavor, it could have really hit the mark, but hey—at least the sheep-themed puns are plentiful! It's a great stop before or after a Cotswold wander, and with a few tweaks in the kitchen, it could easily become a must-visit.
tynerboy . 2024-10-13
MORE AT Google
We had a fine meal at sheep pub however the service and entire experience was ruined by an employee called Karl. He made us feel very uncomfortable and despite our table being available when we arrived (2.45) he refused to seat us until 3.15. We had a drink poured into a dirty glass also. Karl was very off-ish to our entire group and you don’t want to accuse anyone of anything but we were a very diverse group who were seemingly treated very differently. Our female waiter was very friendly however.
Teddy Ryan . 2024-10-12
MORE AT Google
Sunday roast was beautiful. The staff were lovely and very welcoming. Definitely recommend.
Bethany Horne . 2024-09-22
MORE AT Google
Congratulations , we had 2 meals here on different days and amazing the food is superb the fish pie is the best I have ever had anywhere and we have eaten all over the world service is brilliant also just had to write a review you must go and have evening meal
sue chudasama . 2024-09-21
MORE AT Google
Stopped here for lunch over the Bank Holiday weekend, we didn't book but we got seated, it wasn't overly busy. The restaurant has a nice cosy interior and good outdoor space too. The service was terrible and slow throughout which ruined our visit. Apart from this, the lunch was tasty and good value for money. But would not return due to service.
Rhiannon S . 2024-08-27
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Can't comment on accommodation due to booking just for dinner. Both myself and wife loved the food. Great service from our waiter Hugo. Thank you for a lovely evening
Mahmoud Said . 2024-08-25
MORE AT Google
Really good food and service. Thanks Josh!
Annie Mae Smith . 2024-08-24
MORE AT Google
Fish pie was delicious and the staff very helpful plus they sold angelo poretti 👍🍺
stellaman1966 . 2024-08-24
MORE AT Google
Had quite possibly the worst pizza I’ve ever seen for £17, don’t order the pizza at any cost. Nice beer garden 👍🏻
Josh Kerr . 2024-08-24
MORE AT Google
The food was soo good and our waiter was lovely but we waited an hour for our food and many tables who had arrived after us got their food long before us .
Keira taylors version . 2024-08-22
MORE AT Google
Kids meal of sausages and mash was disgusting. I tasted the sausages and they were horrible tasting, dried out rubbish. With so many places selling decent produce in the area too. The mash was a scoped out jacket potato with nothing added. My meal was a minuscule burger that lasted about a minute. About the size of a starter for the best part of twenty quid. But worse was the service. Not one person came back to ask if it was all ok. Even when they eventually cleared the still full plate away, not a mention of why. Can’t see one single reason why anyone would go here. Saw so many people sending food back. That speaks volumes.
Tom_FF_UK . 2024-08-21
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Pizza was awesome. The fish was a bit too fishy, outdoor patio is perfect!
David George . 2024-08-18
MORE AT Google
The pizza i experienced at the Sheep was incredible. The fresh sourdough base, tasty toppings all came together to give a truly fantastic experience, in my mouth hole. Whilst the staff were polite and friendly, i can't say much more than that unfortunately, i just felt a little neglected as far as service goes. For example, a table check back was done via shouting across from an adjoining table as the server walked passed, it all felt a little detached and none-personal. But overall, our experience here was great and would be more than happy to recommend! Will be visiting again soon.
Edward Hill . 2024-08-15
MORE AT Google
Amazing place, really friendly staff who made us feel so welcome. Food is delicious and the menu has a good range of dishes. Will definitely be visiting again. Would definitely recommend as the place to eat when in Stow in the Wold
Mandeep G . 2024-08-14
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Picked The Sheep to host my 50th and they put on a great party with a fantastic buffet in The Pen, and great service from the kitchen and bar. Lovely people. Thanks for making it a night to remember.
Michael Gascoigne . 2024-08-12
MORE AT Google
Pizza and Wings were cold, took ages for table to be cleared when we initially arrived. Wagyu burger was really nice however and the garden was a great spot in the afternoon sun. Not all staff friendly / helpful enough in my opinion.
Alex . 2024-07-28
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Lovely meal and our waitress Stella was very nice and made sure we were taken care of.
Olivia Nelson . 2024-07-26
MORE AT Google
Brilliant service by Sophie at The Sheep pub in Stow on the Wold. She was efficient, caring and very family friendly. Food was excellent too! Laura
Laura Crowe . 2024-07-26
MORE AT Google
Excellent meal here for my birthday! They were very accommodating of us and our 5 month old in his buggy and Sarah was excellent!
Elizabeth Campbell . 2024-07-25
MORE AT Google
Great staff and food highly recommend! Sarah our server was fabulous! Super smiley and attentive!
clare Allan-Reid . 2024-07-25
MORE AT Google
Fantastic food and service. Lovely pub
Joshua Habgood . 2024-07-25
MORE AT Google
Sarah was very helpful and nice!
Subs T . 2024-07-24
MORE AT Google
Amazing location, attentive & friendly staff, spicy pizza is the best I’ve ever had! 5***
Alice Porter . 2024-07-24
MORE AT Google
Lovely place for dinner with a great atmosphere and delicious food. We were served by Sarah who was wonderful!
George Hart . 2024-07-24
MORE AT Google
The Sheep management has chosen not to respond to my complaints despite assuring me that they would. In view of the silence, I have posted the comments here. We stayed in 14B. I had dinner and when asked ‘how is the fish & chips’, I stated that the fish was 75% batter and 25% fish. This ratio should be the other way around. On signing the bill, I asked what the position was with the fish. ‘The chef apologises’ was the response. Really? At breakfast my wife asked if she could have sliced avocado on sourdough toast. The person taking the order - name omitted - said yes. When it came it was mashed avocado with other stuff. When we restated that she had asked for sliced avocado and he had confirmed this, he said ‘ no you didn’t!’. My order of sourdough toast came as a single piece of toast in the middle of a large plate. Nothing else. We decided to leave. The server asked ‘what are you doing’ to which I replied that we are going elsewhere for breakfast. He grabbed the plates, walked off and muttered ‘temper’. Really! This was a private visit as we are looking for a local home. The hotel was recommended by the estate agent Knight Frank. Our business is in hospitality. Your service is inhospitable and I’m surprised that you get repeat custom.
Scottannan . 2024-07-24
MORE AT TripAdvisor
We had a nice dinner and desert for my birthday. Sarah was our waitress and made us feel welcome and appreciated. The food was very good, and the service was exceptional. We are staying across the street at the Porch House, so I’ve left the rooms questions blank. Thank you, Sarah!!
Wendi Martin . 2024-07-24
MORE AT Google
Always a pleasure to come here. The staff are wonderful, very attentive. Great food. The best chicken wings anywhere!
Dee Taylor . 2024-07-22
MORE AT Google
Absolutely fantastic dinner and world class service from Dan.
Rachael Capone . 2024-07-22
MORE AT Google
Lovely food and great service from Dan
Ash Groombridge . 2024-07-22
MORE AT Google
Excellent food and service from Sophie, a real credit to the establishment!
Rob Fuller . 2024-07-22
MORE AT Google
Came along with family. Good choices and very nice food. Nice atmosphere.
Neil R . 2024-07-21
MORE AT Google
No lightbite or small plate options. I asked for a small roast due to medical reasons, no reduction in price was given. The meal was tasty but swimming in gravy.
Sarah Medhurst . 2024-07-20
MORE AT Google
Fabulous meal at The Sheep, fresh pizza baked in front of us! Sarah was a superstar, really attentive & helpful, would definitely recommend!
Susan Williams . 2024-07-18
MORE AT Google
Very nice atmosphere and food was delicious. Very good service from Sophie :)
Emily Notman . 2024-07-18
MORE AT Google
Sophie was an excellent waitress - friendly and very attentive. There was quite a wait for food but the food - when it came - was good, and the restaurant was very busy. A good place to eat!
Andy Fitt . 2024-07-18
MORE AT Google
Lovely service. Thanks sophie. x
Wayne Smith-langridge . 2024-07-18
MORE AT Google
Sarah was an amazing waitress! We enjoyed very much
CMR . 2024-07-18
MORE AT Google
Josh was very patient and helpful. Thank you
Achana Sanj . 2024-07-18
MORE AT Google
The meal and service was excellent. Efficient, attentive and friendly - would definitely recommend. We were served by Sophie
SALLY W . 2024-07-16
MORE AT Google
We had a late lunch at The Sheep, it is my husband's birthday, the service was so good, Daniela was our waitress and she was fabulous! She recommended the duck salad, which I had and it was soooo good!! Very welcoming and attentive. Highly recommend!!
Anna Svenson Tuckey . 2024-07-13
MORE AT Google
Sophie was a great waitress and made our meal very enjoyable!
Esme Knight . 2024-07-12
MORE AT Google
Fantastic service this evening, the waitress was lovely and very efficient and the food was wonderful
Molly Bergara . 2024-07-12
MORE AT Google
Had a walk around stow and called in here. Lovely place to visit for a while.
Justin Taylor . 2024-07-11
MORE AT Google
Great location and service by Sophie!
Graeme & Joanne Kachel . 2024-07-09
MORE AT Google
Staff in hotel reception and bar/restaurant are very attentive, polite and friendly. Food was delicious and the pineapple rum cocktail made by barman Alex was spot on! Room was a little disappointing decor wise in comparison to other rooms within the same hotel chain (no ‘Cotswold’ feel) but very clean and comfy bed.
Lisa Maddocks . 2024-07-09
MORE AT Google
Sophie was a great host - Very tentative. Food was lovely and a great atmosphere.
Kate Arnold . 2024-07-09
MORE AT Google
Only visited for an evening meal. Great food with a good menu. Had some GF options available. Staff weren't so aware but were kind enough to keep checking on everything before allowing us to order and adjustments were made to suit, (again after some checking). Lovely place great environment. Great for an occasion or just a treat meal out.
Tom . 2024-07-08
MORE AT Google
Absolutely amazing food, and Stella our waitress was so attentive and polite
Scarlett Lavington . 2024-07-07
MORE AT Google
Restaurant: friendly and accommodating staff with delicious food! The side of tender stem chili broccoli is one of the best veg dishes I’ve ever had; it was actually quite spicy. The halloumi fries were unparalleled. Got the kale & garlic (veg person) as well which was a bit wet for my taste.
Graham Gibbs . 2024-07-07
MORE AT Google
We had a lovely meal at the Sheep this evening while watching the Football. It was made even better by Daniela who went out of her way to accommodate us. We did not even have to leave our seats as Daniela noticed every time we needed a top up. Great member of staff 😊
michelle haste . 2024-07-06
MORE AT Google
We had a fantastic dinner here. Everything was first rate!
Jeff Watts-Roy . 2024-07-06
MORE AT Google
Great food and service. Dog friendly.
Ashley Burlaczenko . 2024-07-05
MORE AT Google
Stay and dinner couldn’t have been better. Sarah that served us for pre dinner drinks, organised a table for us without us even asking, just in case we wanted to come, was so delightful. And Daniela that served us during dinner was so lovely as well. One of the best steaks I’ve had in the UK. Thank you team.
Bella Zaritski . 2024-07-05
MORE AT Google
Came with friends for Sunday lunch & it was perfect in all aspects - ended up having the Sunday roasts & the Yorkshire puds were to ‘die for’ simply lovely. Staff were great attentive & friendly & even choose me a surprise Icecream scoop which was spot on !! Ambience 100% atmosphere 100% - would I recommend 100%
Andrew S . 2024-06-30
MORE AT TripAdvisor
Similary restaurants in South West
1411 Opinions
Fantastic experience, wonderful service from Bradley who was super attentive and made sure my partner and I had everything we needed, food was delicious too, definitely recommend 👍🏼
1393 Opinions
Elena our server was amazing. Great energy. Free limoncello shots to tie up a perfect meal, definitely recommend the seafood pasta with garlic & tomato sauce.
964 Opinions
Love this place! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because it's annoying to butter your toast when it's got fried eggs on it, but its something so small, the food is amazing coffee lush! We had dinner here last month breakfast here a few weeks ago, the food has always been bloody lovely!
649 Opinions
fantastico ..the quality of the ingredients top notch ...the hosts superb and the wine list carefully selected ..little gem no to be missed if you are in the area...
1051 Opinions
I brought my wife to Amore Mio to celebrate a milestone birthday and we were VERY happy with this choice! The staff were excellent, as weel as the food, and to top off the dinner, they played "Happy Birthday" over the music system, and got the rest of the customers to join them in singing Happy Birthday to my wife while presenting her with some of their famous gelato topped with a candle. Plus, they had Italian music playing as the background music, which too many ethnic restaurants don't do and that always takes away from the mood & feel for what they are serving and the authenticity of their cuisine. Amore Mio NAILED in ALL categories for us - Thank you!